Winter is Coming!

First of all, I have to give a huge thank you to everyone who visited my blog yesterday and to WordPress for making me Freshly Pressed. I had no idea that my fledgling blog would receive such a distinction so soon, but I’m very happy that my post about keeping a to-do board helped so many of you.

Game of Thrones (TV series)

For this installment of Fantasy Friday, I have to start by explaining that about a year ago, I discovered George R.R. Martin, one of the biggest names in the fantasy pantheon. I have to admit that when I first saw the covers of his books and read their descriptions, I wasn’t immediately taken, since it sounded like a lot of political drama (something I had gotten a bit weary of in Robert Jordan‘s Wheel of Time series). However, as soon as I began reading A Game of Thrones, I was enthralled.

Martin’s world is different from a lot of other fantasy because it doesn’t contain much overt magic or traditional fantastic elements, but it’s for that, I think, that I have loved it even more. Mr. Martin is proof that you don’t need to rely on shiny gimmicks or dazzling fictional special effects to create a gripping tale. In fact, one of my few beefs with the series so far is this lean towards dragons since the world of Westeros has been holding my attention just fine without flying, fire-breathing reptiles.

Now, I realise that not all of you may be fans of this particular author, and that’s ok. But for my fellow A Song of Ice and Fire fans, imagine my delight when I discovered this HBO series in the works last autumn. Here is the most recent trailer for the TV series followed by a fascinating in-depth look at the making of the show.

I particularly like how in the second video, the interviewees address the elements of fantasy in the series and what makes it such a great story. Obviously, I’m geeking out right now. Who else can’t wait until April 17? 😉

2 thoughts on “Winter is Coming!”

    1. It is actually the first book in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. HBO is making it into a television series, which I think is better than a movie because they will be able to provide more detail and (hopefully) remain truer to the books over several episodes than they would be able to in an hour and a half of movie.

What say you, dear reader?

