Good News

So… it’s been a while.

I can’t believe my last post here was on September 11, and yet, it’s not so incredible, really. Now that I’m back at home for the Christmas break, I have to say I never want another semester like this past one ever again. Graduating in three years rather than four is definitely what is right for me at this point in my life, but unfortunately, such an abbreviated timeframe comes too often at the expense of my writing.

I don’t want to make excuses, since good writers don’t find time to write– they make it. But with 16 credit hours this semester, all of which included writing several essays as well as a mandatory 20 page research paper for my major, I was most definitely writing, just not on Shards of the Storm.

Despite my utter failure to progress with the draft this semester, I did have a couple of very helpful brainstorming sessions with one of my good friends, and I feel like I have a good sense of direction for where it needs to go from here. Additionally, I just received the exciting news that I have been accepted for a very competitive internship in Paris, France next summer; it’s the opportunity of a lifetime, and I couldn’t be happier, though I already know that it will pose a big challenge to my writing discipline.

While I am nowhere near finishing the draft of SotS by December 31 as I had planned, I intend to spend much of my vacation catching up and doing what I can to revive my project. Rest assured, dear readers, that it has not been forgotten; my immediate obligations keep getting in the way. However, I’ve written enough here, so it’s back to the book!

What are your projects for this holiday season? Have any New Year’s resolutions already in the works?

One thought on “Good News”

  1. I know how easily writing can get lost in the shuffle when it’s up against the every day commitments of life. Hopefully you make some good progress over your vacation. My holiday goal will be to get the 1st draft of a short story that’s been rattling around in my head for a long time on paper (or in a word document). I have some goals in the works, but nothing concrete yet.

What say you, dear reader?

