A New First Scene

After too much dawdling, I finally began and wrote a new first scene for my main character. It’s the first time I have written something from his new and improved perspective, and I’m quite happy with it. So far, his voice and character are living up to the man I interviewed and always needed for this role.

Also, my Muse, far from being dead, is apparently alive and well, though maybe a bit miffed at how much attention I’ve been giving the Inner Editor lately. She decided to give me an early Christmas present in the form of Joss (a thinly-veiled nod to Joss Whedon of Buffy and Firefly fame? Maybe…), a character I had never even met until I started writing the scene, yet a highly potential comrade for my MC. As sceptical as I am of sidekick characters (Mat Cauthon to Rand al Thor, Robin to Batman, etc. Ok, Sam Gamgee I have a soft spot for, but I digress!) his voice was surprisingly strong, as well, so I can’t wait to see how he develops alongside Brenin, my main protagonist.

The scene came out to just over 1,000 words, bringing my overall wordcount up to about 9,500. It might be a little short, but I can always flesh it out later if need be, and for a rough draft, I’m happy with it.

Off to bed to begin dreaming Liora’s opening scene next. Happy writing!

What say you, dear reader?

